Type your search below

Learn more about the Chapter of York

Scroll to explore

The governing body of York Minster is the Chapter. You can find out more about our Chapter members and their roles below.

The Dean and the Residentiary Canons are Chapter’s executive trustees.  They are required to live close to the Minster, and take their turn being ‘in residence’.  In each week of ‘residence’, they preside at the daily services of Morning and Evening Prayer. The Canon in Residence is also on hand to discuss pastoral enquiries, and may be required to chair committees or deputise for the Dean.

The non-executive trustees are unpaid volunteers, who generously contribute a substantial amount of time and bring essential, wide-ranging, expertise and experience to assist Chapter’s work.  All members of Chapter have an equal voice and the same one-member-one-vote decision-making power (the Dean, as Chair, has the casting vote should this be required).


Dean of York

The Very Revd Dominic Barrington

Dominic began his ministry as Curate in the Diocese of Southwark. He served as a University Chaplain at St Chad’s, Durham before becoming Priest in Charge, and subsequently Rector at St Peter & Paul with St Michael’s in Kettering in the Diocese of Peterborough.  After 20 years of ordained ministry in the Church of England, Dominic was appointed as Dean of St James Cathedral, Chicago in September 2015 serving his church community for seven years.  In July 2022, Dominic was announced as the 77th Dean of York.  He was installed in a service at York Minster on Saturday 12 November, 2022.

Canon Missioner

The Revd Canon Maggie McLean

As Canon Missioner, Maggie serves as an ambassador for York Minster, developing partnerships with Christian communities in the City of York, the Diocese of York, the Northern Province of the Church of England and with our link Dioceses in South Africa.


Canon Tim Goode

Tim is a member of the National Disability Task Group, which advises the Archbishops of Canterbury and York on disability issues. A member of the General Synod between 2015 – 2023, Tim led the first debate on disability at the General Synod in July 2022. He was a member of the Archbishops’ Council between 2020 – 2023. Tim was made an Honorary Canon of Southwark Cathedral in September 2020 and has been a trustee of the Churches Conservation Trust since November 2020.



Lay Canon

Linda Ali

After a long working life in the City of London in trade mark management, Linda Ali (born in Trinidad) returned to the University of York where she completed a Master’s Degree in History concentrating on ‘Black Presence in Britain’.  Linda completed research projects about York and Yorkshire’s connection with the slave trade and, as an active member of the Set All Free Executive (2005-2007), she conducted research and nationwide lectures during the 2007 Bicentenary Commemoration of the Abolition of the Slave Trade Act. From 2014 until 2018, Linda worked on the major project about the contribution made by Caribbean and African service personnel during WWI. Linda is a Lay Canon at York Minster and is a representative for the Diocese of York (House of Laity) on the General Synod of the Church of England.

Lay Canon

Peter Collier

Peter Collier spent his working life in the law initially as a barrister, but then as a Circuit Judge, until retirement in 2018. He has been involved in ecclesiastical law for over 40 years, having been diocesan chancellor in several dioceses and is currently the Vicar-General for the Province of York. He is a member of the General Synod. He was Chair of the Cathedral Council from 2005 until 2022 and has a ministry as a Reader in the Minster.

Lay Canon

Alan Dunsmore

Alan is currently Chief Executive of Severfield plc, the UK’s largest structural steelwork contractor, which is listed on the London Stock Exchange. He has held this role on an acting or permanent basis since March 2017 having previously served as the company’s Chief Financial Officer from 2010 onwards.  From 1995 until 2010, Alan held various finance roles at Smiths Group plc both in the UK and overseas.  He originally qualified as a chartered accountant in 1992 with Coopers and Lybrand (now part of Pricewaterhouse Coopers PwC).  Alan is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.


Lay Canon

Lynne Tembey OBE

Lynne is a wife, mother and grandmother who has been privileged to share the word of God locally, nationally and globally in particular through leadership roles within the Mothers’ Union especially as President for the Northern Province and ultimately Worldwide President.  Lynne is passionate about speaking out on issues affecting individuals and family life such as domestic violence, gender based violence, female genital mutilation and safeguarding.  She says: “I have been encouraged, supported and guided through Church and Family being humbled by lives which have touched my own throughout my faith journey.  I believe our stories become God’s stories, by His grace we achieve the impossible.”

Lay Canon

Sir William Worsley

William Worsley is Chair of the Forestry Commission, the Howardian Hills AONB (Area of Outstanding National Beauty) and of Hovingham Estate. He was President of the Yorkshire Agricultural Society and of the Country Land and Business Association. He is a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Societies and a member of the Institute of Chartered Foresters.

Chapter Steward and Chief Operating Officer

David Colthup CBE

David Colthup was commissioned into the Green Howards in 1989 and over the following 33 years served in various locations around the world.  For more information please see here.

As Chapter Steward and Chief Operating Officer, David is the senior adviser to Chapter, responsible for overseeing the Minster’s complex and diverse day-to-day operations, leading and supporting a multi-disciplinary staff team delivering governance, security, safeguarding, HR, finance, retail, visitor welcome, events, learning, marketing, music, IT, historic collections and care of the buildings and land within the York Minster Precinct.

Stay up to date with York Minster

  • Event alerts
  • Seasonal services
  • Behind the scenes features
  • Latest Minster-inspired gifts